Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct Faculty


Our core facultyresearch faculty and visiting professors are joined each year by adjunct faculty who add an array of talents to our course offerings. Many adjunct faculty members are Starr King graduates who return to the school with broad expertise in progressive religious issues. 

To contact adjunct faculty, please use the email addresses below.

2013-2014 Academic Year

Faculty Name | Course | Email Address

Betancourt, Sofia | Environmental Ethics and Liberation | sbetancourt@sksm.edu

Chadly, Yassir | Intro to Islam | chadlys@yahoo.com

Chung, Jiwon | Introduction to the Theatre of the Oppressed | JiwonChung@sksm.edu

Dowdell, Megan | Dynamic Youth Ministry | megan.dowdell@gmail.com

Fry, Christine | Spiritual Practices for These Times | revcfry@aol.com

Greenstein, Devorah | Progressive Educational Theory and Mental Disorders and Oppression | dgreenstein@sksm.edu

Lipowitz, Cassie | Global Religious Traditions | clipowitz@ses.gtu.edu

Prud’homme, Sheri | 19th Century Unitarians and Nature and Our Theological House: An Introduction to Unitarian Universalist Theologies | sprudhomme@ses.gtu.edu

Rankow, Liza | Mysticism and Social Change | rankow@onelifeinstitute.org

Rueters-Ward, Betty Jeanne | Dynamic Youth Ministry and Toward Collective Liberation: Theories and Practice for Social Change | bruetersward@gmail.com

Quero, Hugo Cordova | Queer Studies from a Multi-religious Perspective | hquero@sksm.edu

Adjunct Faculty 2013-2014 ONLY

Buehrens, John | Understanding the Bible: An Introduction for Skeptics, Seekers and Religious Liberals | jbuehrens@comcast.net

Hardies, Robert | Thematic Preaching | RHardies@allsouls.ws

McTigue, Kathleen | Mexico Border Immersion with UU College of Social Justice | kmctigue@uucsj.org

Parker, Kathleen | Unitarian Universalist History | kparker@sksm.edu

Şarhon, Karen (Gerson) | Turkish-Sephardic Culture: History, Language, Music and Cuisine | karensarhon@gmail.com  

Soltani, Amir | Disturbing the Peace: Art and Activism | amisoltani@yahoo.com

Wilson, Jeff | Universalism: History, Theology, and Practice | jwilson101@gmail.com

Hilda Mason Teaching Fellows

Brown, Isaak | Spirituality as Resilience from Trauma | isaakbrown@gmail.com

Dyer, Adam L. | In Your Hands: The Spirituality, Language and Ethics of Touch | adyer@ses.sksm.edu

Newhall Fellowship

Mueller, Michelle | NeoPagan Liturgy: Earth Ritual | mmueller05@gmail.com

2012-2013 Academic Year

Faculty Name | Course | Email ID

Bellin Zvi | Addiction and Recovery | zbellin@fordham.edu

Bozeman, Tom | Graceful Leadership | graceful.leadership@gmail.com

Buehrens, John | Problems and Practices in Parish Ministry | jbuehrens@comcast.net

Andrews, Barry | Transcendentalist Spirituality | revbmandrews@gmail.com

Betancourt, Sofia | Environmental Ethics and Liberation | sofia.betancourt@yale.edu

Chadly, Yassir | Intro to Islam | ychadly@sksm.edu

Dowdell, Megan | Bioethics | mdowdell@sksm.edu

Dzmura, Noach | Elements of TransThe[]logy | ndzmura@sksm.edu

Fry, Chris | Forgiveness | revcfry@aol.com

Greenstein, Devorah | Mental Illness and Oppression | dgreenstein@sksm.edu 

Erlichman, Karen | Nourishing the Soul of the Spiritual Leader: Spiritual Direction, Social Justice and Radical Hospitality | kerlichman@sksm.edu

Lawson, Phil | Prophetic Witness for Justice in the East Bay | plawson@sksm.edu

Mace, Emily | Histories of UU Religious Practice | emace@sksm.edu

NightMare, M. Macha | Ritual Studies and Liturgical Design | herself@machanightmare.com

Sengstock, Guy and Bozeman, Tom | Graceful Leadership II,III,IV | graceful.leadership@gmail.com

Quero, Hugo Córdova | hugo.cquero@gmail.com | Promised Lands and Immigrants


Previous Academic Year 2011-2012

Faculty Name | Course | Email ID

Bishop, Helen | Systems Thinking and Leadership | hbishop@sksm.edu

Buehrens, John | Understanding the Bible: An Introduction for Skeptics, Seekers and Religious Liberals | jbuehrens@comcast.net

Carrasco, Octavio | Music Art and Social Change | ocarrasco@ses.sksm.edu

Chadly, Yassir | Sufi Dhikr: Remembrance of the Divine | ychadly@sksm.edu

Chung, Jiwon | Theater of the Oppressed | jiwonchung@sksm.edu

Cordova Quero, Hugo | Promised Lands and Immigrants | hugo.cquero@gmail.com

Dowdell, Megan | Dynamic Youth Ministry | mdowdell@sksm.edu

Dowdell, Megan | Resilience and Resistance | mdowdell@sksm.edu

Dundzila, Rudra | Adult Faith Development | rdundzila@sksm.edu

Fry, Chris | Forgiveness | cfry@sksm.edu

Garfield, Charles | Caring and the Spiritual Life | cgarfield@sksm.edu

Greenstein, Devorah | Mental Illness and Oppression | dgreenstein@sksm.edu

Klein, Kim | Fundraising: Finding the Money You Need for the Work you Love | kim@kleinandroth.com

Lansdowne, Carmen | Global Religious Traditions | clansdowne@sksm.edu

Mace, Emily | Congregational Polity | emace@sksm.edu

Mehta, Samira | Ritual Practices and American Jewish Traditions | smehta@sksm.edu

 Prud'homme, Sheri | Our Theological House | sprudhomme@sksm.edu

Riley, Meg | Unitarian Universalist Social Action: For Such a Time as This | mriley@sksm.edu

Rueters Ward, Betty Jeanne | Dynamic Youth Ministry | bjruetersward@sksm.edu

Scofield, Be | Dr. King and Empire: How MLK Jr. Resisted War, Capitalism & Christian Fundamentalism | bscofield@ses.sksm.edu

Scott, Phillip | Indigenous Ways of Knowledge | pscott@sksm.edu

Thomas, Dexter | Testimony as Community and Congregational Revival | drthomas@sksm.edu

van Boom, Jason | Karbala: Islam and Liberation Theology | jvanboom@sksm.edu

Velimirovic, Nada | Unitarian Universalist Theologies: Modernity and Postmodernity | nvelimirovic@sksm.edu

Wadud, Amina | Islam, Gender and Reform | awadud@sksm.edu

Waters, Justin | On Other Worlds: Science Fiction, Theology, and Culture, PT. 1 | jwaters@sksm.edu


2010-2011

Carmen Barsody, M.Div., OSF
Sofia F. Betancourt, M.Div
Helen Bishop, M.A., M.Ed., Ed.D
Shaykh Yassir Chadly
Jiwon Chung
Sean Parker Dennison, M.Div.
Megan Dowdell, M.A.
Rudra Dundzila, D.Min.
Estelle Frankel, M.S.
Chris Fry, M.Div.
Fred Garcia, BA, MA, DHL (Hon)
Charlie Glickman, PhD
Tiny Gray-Garcia 
Devorah Greenstein, Ph.D., M.S., M.Div.
Mark Harris, M.A., M.Div
Kathryn A. Jorgensen
Addae Ama Kraba, M.Div
Carmen Lansdowne, BA, M.Div
John F. Linder, MSW, LCSW
Laura Magnani, MA
Glenna Matthews, MA, PhD,
Mohamad Som Pourfarzaneh, M.A.S.C.
Liza J. Rankow, MHS, PhD
Wilson Riles, MA
Susan Schulman, MS, Mdiv
Leslie Takahashi Morris, MA
Dexter Roderick Thomas 
Betty Jeanne Rueters-Ward, M.A.
Nada Velimirovic', M.Div.
Charla Batsell Weiss, M.S.
Jeff Wilson, MA, PhD
Perry Pike, MA, M.Div.
Sarla Santwani, M.A., M.Ed., Ph.D.
Jodi Tharan, M.Ed.


2009-2010

Carmen Barsody, O.S.F.
Sofia Betancourt, M.Div.
Helen Bishop, Ed.D.
Shaykh Yassir Chadly
Jiwon Chung
Tawna Nicholas Cooley, M.Div.
Hugo Córdova Quero, M.Div.(equiv), M.A., Ph.D.
Lilia Cuervo, M.A., M.Div.
Vilius Rudra Dundzila, M.A., Ph.D., M.P.S., D.Min.
Laura Farha, MSW, M.Div.
Christine Fry, M.Div., M.S., M.A.
Helio Fred Garcia, M.A.
Devorah Greenstein, M.S., M.S., Ph.D., M.Div.
Kenneth Hamilton, M.Div., M.A., Ph.D.
Mark Harris, M.A., M.Div.
Marinetta Cannito Hjort, M.A., M.A.
Holly Horn, M.Div., Ph.D.
Carol Johnson, MSW
Kay Jorgensen, M.Div., S.T.D. (honorary)
Keith Kron, M.Div.
Rabbi Elliot Kukla, M.A.
Manish Mishra, M.Div.
Tovis Page, MTS, Ph.D.
Sheri Prud’homme, M.Div.
Meg A. Riley, M.Div.
Nada Velimirović, M.Div.
Michael Walker, M.A.
Charla Weiss, M.S., Ph.D.

2008-2009

Carmen Barsody, O.S.F.
Helen Bishop, Ed.D.
Charles M. Burack, M.A., M.A., Ph.D.
Shaykh Yassir Chadly
Jiwon Chung
Tawna Nicholas Cooley, M.Div.
Rudra Vilius Dundzila, M.A., Ph.D., M.P.S., D.Min.
Christine Fry, M.Div., M.S., M.A.
Eileen Harrington, M.A., M.Div.
Mark W. Harris, M.A., M.Div.
Holly Horn, M.Div., Ph.D.
Kay Jorgensen, M.Div., S.T.D. (honorary)
Keith Kron, M.Div.
John F. Linder, MSW, LCSW
Laura Magnani, M.A.
Amy Zucker Morgenstern, M.A., M.Div.
Shakina Reinhertz, M.A.
Robert R.N. Ross, S.T.B., Ph.D.
Phillip Scott, M.L.A

Core Faculty

Dean of the Faculty

Research Scholars & Research Faculty

Visiting Professors

Hilda Mason Teaching Fellows

Intern Supervisors

 

 

 

 


Copyright © 1998- 2014 Starr King School for the Ministry. All rights reserved.